Level I: Foundation Series

Level I: Foundation Series
Foundations of Tea: Level One

As the first course in STI’s expanding education and certification program, Foundations of Tea: Level One will provide attendees with a strong understanding of the 5 basic tea types and the two traditional styles of orthodox tea production used to create them. Topics also include the essential components of teas, where and how teas are grown, the stages of processing and what differentiates the different types and classifications of tea. Attendees will have the opportunity to taste representative samples of each of the 5 tea types, discuss tea steeping methods and examine the basic characteristics of different teas.

Level I: Foundation Series
Foundations of Tea: Level One Class Schedule

9:00 – 9:15am: Introductions and Orientation

9:15 – 10:45am:

  • Section 1 – The World of Specialty Tea
  • Section 2 - Introduction to Stages of Processing and Manufacturing
  • Section 3 - Stages of Processing and Manufacture – Chinese method

10:45 – 11:15am: Break

11:15am – 12:30pm:

  • Section 4 - Introduction to Tea Tasting
  • Section 5 – White and Green Teas

12:30 to 1:30: Lunch

1:30 to 3:00pm:

  • Section 6 – Oolong Teas
  • Section 7 - Stages of processing and manufacture – British method
  • Section 8 - Stages of Processing and manufacture – Pu’erh

2:55 – 3:25pm: Break

3:25 – 4:15pm:

  • Section 9 - Tasting both black and pu’erh

4:15 – 5:00pm:

Section 10 - Review and test

Back to top